Our First Week with Lydia

22 Apr

Today is Lydia’s 1 week birthday. This week has been absolutely amazing. I had no idea how much love I could have for someone without really knowing them. I am so in love with Lydia. I could look at and hold her all day long. I still find it hard to believe sometimes that she is ours, and that we get to keep her.

For those who are interested in labor details, here is the brief rundown. I started having contractions last Tuesday morning around 1:00. I started timing them at 3:30 AM and they were 6 minutes apart. At 8:00 AM we went into the hospital. At 11:30 AM they sent us home because I wasn’t progressing. We came home and I rested for a little bit and at 1:15 PM my water broke. We went back to the hospital and I was at 3 cm. A little bit later I was at 5 cm. I got an epidural, which was wonderful!! I soon was at 7, then 10 cm. Time to start pushing!!! I pushed for 15 min and Lydia Grace was born at 5:54 PM! Only 5 hours of labor…Whoo Hoo! We came home on Thursday and have been enjoying every moment with our new baby girl.

Lydia is doing great. She was born 7 lbs 7 oz and 20 inches long. Today we went back to the doctor and she is already back up to her birth weight! Yeah! They said she is off to a great start. I must say, she is an excellent eater.

I know I’m biased, but I think she is one of the best babies ever. She is so content all the time. She sleeps most of the time and only fusses when she is hungry or getting her diaper changed. Last night she slept for 3 hours straight, twice! I am so proud, not to mention thankful for the sleep.

Both Dustin and I are so thankful to have a healthy, beautiful, and happy baby. We know it is only because of God’s grace. He has truly blessed us more than we could ever have imagined.

One Response to “Our First Week with Lydia”

  1. Lisa April 24, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    Congrats! She sounds like a doll! Can’t wait to see you all.

Leave a Reply

