Lots of Random Thoughts

16 May

I’ve meant to write a bunch of posts over the last couple weeks, but the days seem to go by very quickly these days. I finally got a chance to write tonight, so this is going to be a very random post.

Last weekend was Lydia’s first road trip. We went to Chicago for Dustin’s sister’s Graduation. We rode with Dustin’s parents in their RV. She was a great traveler. Sunday was my first Mother’s day! It was a great day because we were able to be with Dustin’s mom and grandma and my mom. We stopped in Milwaukee on our way home and met up with my parents and my sister’s family. I am so incredibly blessed to have Lydia as a daughter. I still can’t believe she is ours sometimes. What did we do to get something so wonderful? That’s is what makes our God so great, we didn’t do anything. It is by His Grace alone. My wonderful husband got me a gift certificate for a massage for mother’s day!!! Yippee!

We introduced a bottle to Lydia this week and there were no problems! She doesn’t even care if the milk is warmed up! She seems to like the crazy bottle we got too.

Our friends had a baby on Mother’s day and we went to go see them in the hospital. He is super cute. He weighed about the same as Lydia did when she was born a month ago and it was crazy to see the difference between them. She has really changed a lot in the last month. The baby fat is definitely coming. I love her chubby little cheeks!

Yesterday we went to some local shops that sell antiques and fun decorating things but are only open one weekend a month. My two favorites were Mustard Moon and How Quaint. We found some great items at great prices including this table and chairs for our front porch.

We also got some items for Lydia’s room and a bed frame for ours. I’ve been looking for a bed since we got married and just have never found the right one at the right price. I finally found it! It needs a little work, so I’ll take a picture when its done. I love it!

Today was gorgeous out so I decided it was finally time to do some yard work and plant some plants. We decided to plant some strawberry plants in our garden bed. I’m not a great farmer, so we’ll see what happens. I just thought strawberries would be a fun thing to grow. I also planted several herbs…yummy! I set Lydia’s pack and play up outside so she could get some fresh air too!

2 Responses to “Lots of Random Thoughts”

  1. Andrea May 17, 2008 at 5:56 pm #

    I love your deck. We did some planting today too. What a beautiful day! I can’t wait to see it in person on Wednesday.

  2. Kim May 25, 2008 at 2:53 pm #

    Congratulations! Lydia is so beautiful. You guys are so lucky – she looks so healthy and perfect. Lydia is so lucky too – you guys will be the best parents. Enjoy every little second with your sweet baby girl. Being a mom is the most amazing thing, isn’t it! You are truly blessed! I’m so sorry to hear about Molly too, it made me think back to the times we spent together (and how mean we were to stick stickers on the top of her head) at your mom and dad’s house! It’s hard to believe those days are such a long time ago. Take care and God bless you perfect new family!

Leave a Reply

