Another Faux Babe Au Lait

11 Aug

I made another nursing cover.  This one is for my friend Kristy who is due in September!!  She is having a boy, so I tried to pick fabric that was more masculine, but still fun for Kristy to “wear”.  I also made some matching burp clothes out of cloth diapers.

A few people have asked for instructions for how to make one of these.  It is soooo easy, I promise.  I’m not very good at writing instructions, so I hope this is good enough.  Let me know if you have questions.

You’ll need:

1 yard of fabric ( this will give you enough fabric for the cover and some extra for accessories like the burp clothes)

12″ of boning

1 Ring (optional)

Cut a piece of fabric 28″ x 42″.  On the two short sides and one long side, fold the raw edges in and sew.  On the second long side, fold the same way, but place the boning in the middle and sew.

For the strap you can either make two straps that you tie together, or one long strap and a ring.  To make the strap I cut a long piece of fabric that was 4.5″ wide.  Sew wrong sides together and then turn right side out.  If you want a ring, cut a small section of the strap and fold in around the ring and sew onto the cover just to the right of the boning.  Sew the other part of the strap to the left of the boning.   If you just use two longer straps, sew one on each side of the boning.

I hope this makes sense.  Like I said, let me know if you have questions.

2 Responses to “Another Faux Babe Au Lait”

  1. Megan August 12, 2008 at 12:00 am #

    Hey Anna,
    thanks for the directions! I’m excited to make one sometime. That’ll be my project before a #2 comes into the picture. I would have loved to have had one for Elijah. Blankets are hard to fuss with going over your head, no light etc. This will definetly be nice.

    When you get a chance, will you post the directions for the purse/bag you have a picture of (the one posted with your first knitting project)?

    Thanks,
    God Bless! Have a great week!

    Megan

  2. Megan August 26, 2008 at 11:07 pm #

    Hey Anna,
    I’m working on my first cover. I have all the pieces cut out, not I just need to sew it. I was wondering how big you made the pouch for the other one.

    If you could let me know, that would be great!

    Thanks,
    Megan

Leave a Reply

