Traditions

9 Sep

I’m reading the book “Treasuring God in Our Traditions” by Noel Piper (our pastor’s wife).  The title pretty much gives the subject away.  I got it as a gift for our wedding and I’m finally getting around to reading it.  I think I have a better appretation for it now that we have a child anyway and I’m really enjoying it.  

Growing up, my family had lots of traditions like having pizza for dinner every Sunday night, going on a family vacation every summer, and having cream puffs for Christmas Eve dessert.  Its fun to read about traditions that other families have and as I read this book I’m thinking of traditions we can start in our own family.  I really want our family traditions to point our children towards God.  Some ideas I’ve gotten from the Pipers that I’d like to start are having family devotions every night before bed, reading a book to the kids as they fold their laundry, and making birthdays very special.  

What are your family traditions?

Leave a Reply

