A little more about food…IDF part 1

14 Sep

A few weeks ago I mentioned that I was reading In Defense of food and going to try to avoid High Fructose Corn Syrup.  I thought I would give a few more of the ideas that the book had that we are going to try to implement.  I will be posting a couple at a time until I’m done.  I really enjoyed this book and hope we can implement these things, at least to some extent.

The main point of the suggestions is to avoid the Western Diet.  The subtitle of the book is Eat Food. Not too much.  Mostly Plants.

#1 “Don’t eat anything your great grandmother wouldn’t recognize as food”

I thought this was a great point.  So many “foods” today are so highly processed that they barley resemble food anymore.  My grandma, who lived to be 99, made most of her food from scratch.  That has to had made some kind of impact her longevity.

Dustin and I are trying really hard to make most of our meals from scratch.  I’m also making cookies and brownies from scratch too.

#2  “Avoid food products containing ingredients that are A) Unfamiliar, B) Unpronounceable, C) More than five in number, or that include D) High Fructose Corn Syrup”

This one can be very hard to do, and really limits what you can buy.  Even today there were a couple grocery items that I really wanted, but didn’t buy because of a couple of these reasons.

In the book the author lists the ingredients in Sara Lee’s Soft and Smooth Whole Grain White Bread and its astonishing.  There are several unpronounceable and unfamiliar ingredients, and there are 41 ingredients total.

Apparently in an attempt to make traditional foods more nutritious scientists make them much more complicated, and not much better for you.  They take the fat out and replace it with a bunch of food additives to keep it tasting good.

I already mentioned we are trying out best to avoid HFCS, but we are also trying these other things too.

Quotes from In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan

One Response to “A little more about food…IDF part 1”

  1. Joey September 14, 2008 at 11:48 pm #

    We’ve been trying to avoid high fructose corn syrup for a while as well and Jamie usually cooks from scratch, so it’s been fun to read your posts. We’ve learned a few things along the way as we’ve (or I should say, Jamie has, as I really don’t cook…I know, I need to buckle down and just do it…) increasingly scrutinized what we eat.

    1. It’s pretty expensive to eat healthy! However, eliminating just one or two restaurant meals a month easily makes up for the cost differential.
    2. Just because it’s from scratch doesn’t mean it’s healthy. As we’ve adopted recipes from our families (especially our grandparents) or found recipes online, we’ve found a lot of fat and sugar. It’s still better than having a bunch of synthetic junk, but Jamie’s been able to find a number of substitutes that I think taste just as good and don’t add any more weight.
    3. Eating healthy is SO worth it!! (But hey, you’ve got to splurge every now and then…)

Leave a Reply

