Easily Distracted

18 Dec

For some reason when I have a lot to do, either at home or at work, I find myself doing random tasks rather than the larger things that need to be focused on.  Why do I do that?

Example A:  I have had a ton of things to finish at work before Christmas….phone calls, emails, meetings, etc.  But yesterday I found myself updating my contact list.  Helpful, but not a necessary task to be finished before I leave.

Example B: The other day I had a lot picking up to do around the house.  Then I found myself rearranging the clothes in my closet and scrubbing the outside of the microwave.  Once again, helpful, but not the most important item on the list.

Do I have a procrastination issue??

One Response to “Easily Distracted”

  1. Cindy December 18, 2008 at 8:03 pm #

    Hi Annie,
    It sounds like a typical reaction to too many things to do. I’ve found that the best way to deal with work overload is to write down a list of tasks that need to be done. It feels so good to cross them off the list as they are completed. Sometimes the lists get pretty long though. When my mom got the “too many things to do” blues she would polish the door knobs. Yikes. Just what needed to do done! I hope you don’t have too much bad weather to drive in. It sure is some winter.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

