A thought I agree with

22 Jan

Ever since we started avoiding HFCS I’ve been reading the blog A Life Less Sweet. She talks a lot about ways to avoid HFCS, and often features surprising food items that have it in them.

I had to share an excerpt from her most recent post that I totally agree with.

“What do you do when you’ve taken on a healthier diet – say, given up HFCS – and are eating food at someone’s house? Maybe you’re at a playdate and a friend is serving your child bright blue yogurt or maybe a sugary punch drink that you know is filled with HFCS. Do you call them on it? Do you tell them that you don’t eat foods like that?

I saw this quote from Michael Pollan, the author of In Defense of Food and Omnivore’s Dilemma, in Reader’s Digest last week. He says:

I really care where my food comes from, but I also care about being a good guest. So I eat whatever is put in front of me and don’t make special requests.

I completely agree with Mr. Pollan. I know that not everyone is on the same food journey that we’re on. Some people are not at all concerned about the ingredients in their food, some people are on a very different sort of journey than we’re on, and some people are way ahead of us in the foods they eat.

I do think that we should fight for the food that our kids eat. We should fight for better school lunches. We should make it known with our pocketbooks and e-mails and blogs that we won’t tolerate trans fat or HFCS or whatever else gives you the heebie-jeebies in our food – especially when that food is marketed to children. We should lead by example and eat a good, healthy diet so that our children have something to model. But we should also remember to be gracious to our hosts.”

Leave a Reply

