Its time to spruce up the inside

1 Feb

We’ve lived in our house for almost 3 years now and its finally time to hang some things on the wall and make it look a little more homey. I always have these great ambitions to decorate, but when it comes down to it, I always get scared that something won’t look right and then I’ll just be left with extra holes in the wall from the nails. It also always seems like such a big undertaking to decorate the whole house. Today I decided to change. I’m going to take on one room of the house each month and do 1 or 2 things to spruce it up. (paint, photos, curtains, etc.) I also want to try to do this for as little money as possible, under $30/room, so I’ll be trying to use things we already own, finding things at thrift stores, or making things. Here is my plan so far:

  • February: Entry Hallway
  • March: Family Room
  • April: Master Bedroom
  • May: Dining Room
  • June: Kitchen
  • July: Living Room
  • August: Basement/laundry
  • September: Upstairs Bathroom

First up is the entry hallway. We already bought a new light fixture that is from this century that will hopefully shine more light. (Since we already bought it I’m not counting it towards my $30/month cap, is that wrong?) I plan to find some cool hooks to hang our coats on and get some fabric to make a curtain for the window next to the door. If there is still money left, I may try to come up with something to hang over the doorway.

I’m soooo excited to take this on! I really feel that by focusing on one room at a time I’ll be better able to focus. Here we go!

Leave a Reply

