Our Trip to California

12 Jun

Traveling is probably my least favorite part of my job, but there are the occasional perks.  I had to go to Ontario, CA for work so we decided to use some frequent flier miles to turn this into a family vacation.  It was a short and very busy few days, but we had a blast.  Here is how we spent our time.

Friday:

We flew to Santa Ana around 11:00 am.  We headed to Wahoo’s Fish Tacos at Fashion Island in Newport Beach.  Pretty tasty.  We walked around a little bit and then headed to Whole Foods for some groceries for the week.  We love that store.  For dinner we went to In and Out Burger because everyone said it was a must have.  It was pretty good, but we think 5 Guys Burgers and Fries is better.  That night we listened to some outdoor music and then went to the hotel to crash after a long day.

Saturday:

We woke up early due to the time change and headed to Newport Beach for some donuts, coffee, and the ocean.  Lydia really like wading in the waves!  It was so fun to walk with her on the beach.

Then we headed to the Orange County Swap Meet…interesting.  I did get some designer knockoff sunglasses for $5 though.

Next we decided to head north and drive around Hollywood and Beverly Hills.  I have to say, Hollywood was disappointing.  Very dirty and run down looking.  But we had to see the sign right??  We drove all over trying to get a good look at it.  This was the best picture we could get.

Then we drove to Santa Monica.  We walked around downtown and on the pier.  It was a nice area. As you can see, the sun finally came out!

Then we went to Venice beach. Not my favorite part of the trip.  There are some very strange people that hang out on the boardwalk there.  We definately smelled lots of pot.  The beach was nice though.

After a long day we made our way back to our hotel room and got some Chick-fil-a for dinner.

Sunday:

We went south to Laguna Beach.  This was my favorite place we visited.  A super cute town right on the coast.  It was very cloudy and overcast, but still pretty.  My favorite spot we went to was Thousand Steps Beach.  We had to walk down a couple hundred steps to get to it.  It was fairly hidden, so there were only a few people on it.  We had a lot of fun walking up and down the beach.  Lydia loved the waves and the sand.  This trip was her first time seeing sand (other than a couple trips to the park) or the ocean.

We drove up and down the hills of town looking at all the amazing houses.  I couldn’t help but wonder how all the houses on stilts survive earthquakes.

For lunch we went to this amazing little place called La Sirena Grill.  I had an awesome wild salmon salad and Dustin had a fish burrito.  Yum Yum!

We walked up and down the streets of Laguna too.

For dinner we went to the Crab Cooker in Newport Beach.  Tasty crab cakes!! We also spent a little more time on the beach in Newport.

Monday:

We packed up our things from our hotel and headed Northeast to Pasadena.  We went to see the church where Heidi and Spencer from the Hills got married.  We just had to.  It was in kind of a dumpy area.

Then we went to the LA Arboretum.  I really enjoyed walking around and seeing some of the local plant life.  I love palm trees!!!  Do they make little ones that I can keep inside??

Then we headed to Ontario because that’s where I had to go for work.  This was a really cute town nestled at the bottom of the mountain range. Its at the beginning of Route 66.

For dinner we had some sushi and then walked around a fun outdoor mall area.

Tuesday:

I did a couple hours of work in the morning before hitting up the Gap Outlet.  I only had 45 minutes before we had to leave for the airport, but I still managed to snag some really cute stuff.

We headed back to the airport and took off at 2:30.

It was a whirlwind trip, but so fun.  This was my first time to see the Pacific ocean.  I know Lydia won’t remember the trip, but it was still fun to do this as a family.  I was nervous about how she would travel and sleep in new places, but she was an absolute champ.  I couldn’t believe how great she handled the shcedule changes and lack of sleep.  She is the best baby ever!

4 Responses to “Our Trip to California”

  1. paige June 12, 2009 at 4:48 pm #

    The picture of Lydia in her stroller made me laugh out loud. Love it! I’m glad you all had a great trip. 🙂

  2. Joey June 13, 2009 at 1:32 am #

    I still think it’s crazy that you guys think 5 Guys is better…they’re just an In-N-Out knockoff!! 🙂 (Ok, I do like 5 Guys…just not nearly as much. In-N-Out is also noted for being a great place to work and paying their employees significantly more than minimum wage.)

    And I completely agree with you, Hollywood is much dirtier than I expected it would be. We hiked up to the Hollywood sign though, which was kind of neat and is a little bit nicer area. Probably not ideal for a whirlwind trip though.

    I’m definitely jealous…looks like a great trip!!

  3. vannella June 19, 2009 at 10:02 am #

    What a fun trip! I love all the pictures & the day by day.

  4. Amanda Netolicky July 1, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

    Your pictures are incredible! I loved reading about your trip, it sounds like you had a great vacation. I also love your green dress. And I love you guys 🙂

Leave a Reply

