a great documentary

12 Jul

Thursday after work a group of us went to see the documentary Food Inc.  I highly recommend it, but be warned, it may change the way you eat.  Check out the trailer here, and then find your local theater that is showing it.

This movie has really made me think about my food.  It focuses on how much has changed in the way our food is raised and processed  over the last 50 years.  Most of it not in a good way.  It was very eye opening.  When I came home I was telling Dustin all about it and he was quick to remind me that this was a very one sided documentary that was made to convince people of their viewpoint, of which I think they did a great job.  It has made me think about the sources of my food though.

Over the last year our family has made some changes in what we eat.  The main things we’ve done are to cut out high fructose corn syrup and hydrogenated oils.  We’ve also been getting some organic foods, cage free chickens, and grass fed beef.  I have to say I really like knowing where my meat comes from.    We’ve gotten some meat from Misty Meadows Farm near Rochester and I really like it.  Seeing this movie makes me want to get all of our meat from a local farm that raises their animals the way they were created to be raised.  The food budget just simply does not always allow for it.

Another topic this movie covered was genetically modified foods.  I have to admit I haven’t thought a lot about this in the past, but I’d like to do a little more research on this topic.

When it comes to food, the bottom line for me is that I don’t want to feed our family unhealthy food just because its cheap or easy.  I want to do everything I can to prevent obesity and diabetes and the plethora of other diseases that are on the rise in this country, and after doing some reading and watching this movie, I’m becoming more and more convinced that eating the way my great-grandparents ate could be the ticket.  Unfortunately it seems like in this day and age its really hard to do that.  I don’t have time to make all our bread from scratch or butcher my own chickens.  I also don’t have lots of extra money to spend on buying all organic foods, nor do I know if that is necessary.  What I would like is to strike a nice balance.  This summer we are part of a CSA that provides fresh, organic produce all summer.  We also like to go to the farmer’s market and load up on in season veggies for the freezer.  I also love to bake, so when I have some time I like to make up cookies or pizza dough or apple crisp to keep in the freezer.  I’d really like to increase the amount of things I make and keep in the freezer.  It helps save time in the long run and its cheaper.  The tricky part of this whole eat local idea is winter.  Its really hard to find fruits and veggies in February in Minnesota that are local.

Leave a Reply

