The girl is changing

17 Jul

I’ve realized over the past couple weeks that my precious baby girl has morphed into a toddler. How did that happen? Its so fun to watch her develop and learn about her surroundings. The other day she took a couple steps all on her own!!! I still think it will be a couple weeks at least before we can say she’s walking, but oh boy are we getting close. She also loves to climb the steps, which I don’t love. The other day she discovered how to flush the toilet….3 times in a row.

Another new thing is that we have had to start disciplining, which I don’t like. Couldn’t she just stay a sweet girl who never did anything wrong? Yeah right. I’ve been reading the book “Don’t Make Me Count to 3” which is all about Godly discipline. I have soooo much to learn. One of the quotes which has really stuck with me is this one:

Mom: “How does God want you to obey?”

Child: ” All the way, right away, and with a happy heart.”

I think this is a great summary of how we want Lydia to be (and us for that matter). I have to admit though, disciplining her (the few times we’ve had to) is extremely hard for me. I’m constantly fighting this worry of “she won’t like me anymore”. I know discipline is very important, and I know God calls us to it, but it is so hard to do, especially with a right heart and attitude. I know this is going to be a huge area of prayer for me for the next several years.

On a happy note, here is a video of one thing Lydia loves to do, ride her bike.

3 Responses to “The girl is changing”

  1. Joey July 17, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    Wow she’s big! Nothing like kids to make an young adult to feel a little less young…

  2. Lisa July 17, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    Cute! She’s really good at that! I guess its no wonder considering her bike savvy parents! Ugh! Discipline! Way hard. I’ll pray for you if you pray for me. 🙂 Hope you guys are doing well.

  3. Dan July 20, 2009 at 8:33 am #

    we pray for you everyday.
    And for the record you are a great mom and God will continue to guide you and Dustin together for Lydia’s joy and Gods glory. It is for our joy that God disciplines us. And Lydia will earn that from you and Dustin. Discipline in love and for reconciliation. My preference was always discipline that was quick so we could get back to being together without anything hanging over our heads.

Leave a Reply

