The end of December

1 Jan

These last few weeks have been somewhat of a whirlwind for us.   Back on the 14th my dad went into the hospital.  He has been having back pain for several months now, and it finally got to be too much to handle.   The rest is a very, very long story with lots of ups and downs, but to summarize, up until today we did not have a diagnosis for my dad’s severe pain.  He was in a small town hospital with limited resources so after he was able to be home for Christmas we took him down to the University hospital in Madison.  We won’t know for sure until Monday when all the test results come in, but the doctors have said that my dad  most likely has some type of bone cancer.  This has all been quite a shock for us all.

We had planned to spend Christmas here at home, but I’m so thankful that Dustin, Lydia and I were able to spend a week at my parent’s house for Christmas.  My dad was on super duper strong pain meds that pretty much knocked him out for most of the day, but we did get to talk and be with him each day.  Before he got really sick, my dad had been working on a rocking horse for Lydia’s Christmas present.  It is beautiful, and she loves it!   Here is a video of her from Christmas morning.

This has been a rough few weeks for my family and it seems as though we will have some rough times ahead of us.  I feel so blessed to have had so many of you praying for us over the past few weeks.  It means so much to know that so many Christians are praying for my dad.  I have no idea what is going to happen, but I do know that my God is  in control and that gives me great comfort.

2 Responses to “The end of December”

  1. Andrea January 2, 2010 at 12:27 am #

    Thinking of you…often! Let us know if we can do anything to help!

  2. Kim January 11, 2010 at 8:48 pm #

    What a beautiful video. It had me balling my eyes out. What a precious gift to have something for her that your Dad put so much time and love into. Every time you walk past that in your house you will think about your Dad’s hands careful building that horse to perfection for his sweet little Granddaughter. You were so blessed to have such a loving and kind dad and I am so glad you got to spend the holidays and his last few day with him. That will, no doubt, be a very cherished video for you.

Leave a Reply

