Ellie’s Birth Story

16 Apr

For those of you who are interested, I thought I’d share Ellie’s birth story.

Since I was 4 days early with Lydia, I really thought Ellie would come early too.  Every night for two weeks I would go to bed thinking I would wake up in the middle of the night with contractions and every morning I’d wake up without them.  I had my 40 week check up on March 31 and I was 3 cm dialated.  The Dr stripped my membranes to encourage labor to start.  She said its a 50/50 chance that it will induce labor, but I wanted to try.  My appointment was at 2:00 and by 4:00 I was having mild contractions!  Throughout the evening the contractions starting getting stronger and were about 6-7 minutes apart.  Dustin and I went for a couple walks to keep things moving.  I went to bed hoping to get some rest.  I slept off and on until about 4:00 am.  At that point the contractions were 4-5 minutes apart and were much stronger.  Soon they were 2-3 minutes apart.

I then called the Dr.  She said I didn’t sound like I was in much pain and that I was in the early stages of labor.  WHAT!  My body told me otherwise so Dustin and I headed to the hospital around 5:00 am.  Thankfully my mom had arrived on the 31st, so she was here to watch Lydia.

By this point the contractions were really strong and consistently 2 minutes apart.  I got an epidural shortly after arriving at the hospital.  I know there are different philosophies on taking drugs during labor, but for me, epidurals are the way to go.

This time my water didn’t break on its own, so around 9am the Dr broke it.  By 10 I was ready to push, but I had to wait for the Dr to get back from an appointment.  Those few minutes of waiting felt like forever.  When she finally got there it took about 10 minutes of pushing and Ellie was out!

It really was an “easy” labor and delivery considering I was pushing out a baby.  The Dr said I’m meant to have babies because I have a really roomy pelvis.  Ellie didn’t have a cone-head at all.  Thank you God for blessing me with wide hips!

So far Ellie has been a wonderful baby.  She is very content almost all of the time.  She sleeps for 3-4 hour stretches at night and is an excellent eater.  At her 10 day check up she already weighed a half of a pound over her birth weight!  (That’s double the normal weight gain.)

Leave a Reply

