A bittersweet Christmas Season

8 Dec

I am normally one of those people who LOVES this time of year.  I love everything about it; the snow, the decorations, the music, the gifts, and most of all Christ’s birth.  However, this season I have been struggling to find joy in the things I normally do. I had little motivation to decorate and by this time I normally have several batches of cookies made, but I have not even begun to think about baking yet.  I’ve even had a hard time keeping my focus on Christ, the whole reason to celebrate.  I’ve basically just been in a funk and I’m struggling to get out of it.  I have no doubt that some of this is due to the fact that my Dad is gone this year and I’ve been remembering how hard last Christmas was for me and my whole family.

I was reading a blog the other day of someone who has also had a hard year.  What she wrote here is exactly what I need to remember:

“The goodness that I want to be overwhelmed by this Christmas season is that I have a God who is both GOOD and SOVEREIGN over every circumstance, every seemingly hopeless situation, every tragedy, every loss, every shed tear.

Christ the Lord has come in the flesh… and He is coming again in victory.”

by Stephanie at Keeper of the Home

Every situation is a gift from God, whether we see it as good or bad in our eyes.  God will use it for His glory.

We had a woman’s music program and brunch last weekend and I heard this song for the first time.  It is SO GREAT!  I found this video on you tube and the images are kind of hokey, but the song is powerful.

 

2 Responses to “A bittersweet Christmas Season”

  1. Kim December 8, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Thank you for posting that. I too am in a bit of a funk this Christmas. Matt and I found out that we lost our baby in October and I have been struggling in much the same way as you to feel like celebrating. I know God always has our best interests in mind even if we can’t quite understand why things happen but it has been hard for me to have the same Joy that I usually have this time of the year. One thing is for sure that we can both look at our amazing families and see so much of God’s love everyday. I will be thinking about you and hope that you Holidays are full of love, family, friends, and as much cheer as you can muster up this year! It’s hard not to be exited when the kids find everything about the season so magical!

  2. Dad December 8, 2010 at 11:42 am #

    Anna you are a great blessing to me even in the honesty with which you are processing difficult circumstances but recognize that God is in control.

    I love you

Leave a Reply

