Do I really need this?

22 Feb

I have a confession. I have the tendency to be a pack rat.  There I said it.  I’m not proud of it, but it needed to be said.  Now I’m not as crazy as those people on the show Hoarders, but I do have to fight the urge to keep things just because some day 5 years from now I may possibly need it.  The other urge I have to fight is “this is just such a great deal….I MUST buy 4 of them!”

The funny thing is that I also like things to be simple and streamlined, so my pack rat tendencies are actually really frustrating for me.  I’m trying to minimalize (is that a word?) areas of our house a little bit at a time.  Every few weeks I go through my closet and get rid of a few clothes I never wear, or should never wear.  It feels so good to only have clothes in my closet that I love to wear.

So my most recent area to minimalize was our toiletries cabinet, or should I say cabinets.  I had lotions and soaps in 4 different cabinets in our house.  Here is a picture of all the items (and this isn’t even the stuff we use on a daily basis, its just extras):

This is kind of embarassing.  Yes, that is like 15 mini bars of soap from a hotel…please don’t judge me.

After sorting through it all, this is what I decided to keep:

That empty drawer was actually full of stuff too, I just forgot about it in the first picture.  This still seems like a lot of toiletries, but here is what I’m getting rid of:

A couple weeks ago I had done a mini session and had already decided to get rid of this stuff:

 

Now, does anyone have any suggestions of what to do with all of this?  Some of it has never been used.

It may seem wasteful to get rid of all of this stuff, but I’m trying to simplify my life where I can and really don’t need all of this sitting around in my cabinets.  I’ve switched to using handmade bar soap and shampoo bars found here, and I use Charlie’s soap for all my cleaning needs.  I also got a Norwex mop for my kitchen, so bye bye Swiffer!

4 Responses to “Do I really need this?”

  1. Ashley February 23, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    I recently saw in a magazine that you can hang a shoe organizer over one of your closet doors and store all of your cleaning supplies in it. I bought a clear one and hung it over our closet door and it works great. Everything is organized and I know what I all have.

  2. Lisa February 23, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    Jess, my sister-in-law, did a facebook album with a bunch of pictures of stuff she was getting rid of. You could do that! 🙂

  3. Maggie March 1, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    I’d pick through it for a couple of items (like the scrubbing bubbles and soft scrub). 🙂 I feel like I’m digging through your trash right now.

  4. Mom March 6, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    You could take unused items to a local shelter. They really appreciate that type of stuff.

Leave a Reply

