Fabric Banner Tutorial

20 Mar

I am so excited about how my birthday banner turned out!  I can’t wait for the girl’s birthdays to use it!!!  I decided to take pictures as I made this so that I could write a tutorial.  I will preface this with the fact that I have never written a tutorial before and this was my first time making a banner.  I’m sure as I make more I will come up with different ways to make things easier.  But here is how I made this one.

Materials:

  • Fabric for fronts of triangles.  I chose 5 colors, but you can do as few or as many as you’d like.
  • Fabric for the back of the triangles.  I used cotton muslin in offwhite, but you could use the same fabric as you use for the front.
  • Iron-0n adhesive
  • Binding
  • Felt for letters
  • Thread

Directions:

Decide what your banner will say.  Happy Birthday, Celebrate, Welcome, etc.  Determine how many triangles you will need.

You’ll need a template to cut out your triangles.  I used an old file folder. 

Next you trace and cut out all your triangles, one for each letter and any spaces.

Here is a picture of the iron on adhesive I used.  I went with this version so that I could sew through it.  If you don’t want to sew, you could go with the stiffer stuff.  Following the directions on the package, iron this adhesive to the wrong side of your backing fabric.

Next trace your pattern onto the paper of the adhesive and cut out each triangle.

Then you’ll iron the front and back fabrics together.  (I’m sure you could get to this point with fewer steps, but this worked.)

If you don’t want to sew, you don’t need to do this step, but I like the detail it adds.  I sewed a 1/4 seam along 2 sides of the triangles.

Next take pinking shears and cut along 2 sides of the triangles.

Next you’ll need to pick a font for your letters.  I just used something in Word and then blew it up to like 250 or 300 font size.  Print off all the letters you’ll need.

This is another process that could probably be shortened but I ironed my adhesive to my felt, then traced each letter onto the adhesive, and then cut them out.  Make sure you trace your letters backwards….speaking from experience.

Here’s the letters cut out of the felt.  Next just iron the letters onto your triangles

I used bias tape to link the triangles together, but you could also make your own using a coordinating fabric.  

Sew your bias tape onto the triangles.  I used a zigzag stich for some extra detail.

So stinking CUTE!

Leave a Reply

