Grass Fed Beef

22 Apr

I’ve been reading the blog Keeper of the Home for a while now and always find great articles.  Today’s post is about grass fed beef.

http://www.keeperofthehome.org/2011/04/grass-fed-meats.html

We have been getting our beef from a local farm, Misty Meadows, for a couple years now and we absolutly love it.  I love knowing exactly how the meat we eat was raised and I think it tastes great!  This article does a good job of explaining the benefits of grass fed beef.  Here is a quick quote from the article:

Grass Fed Meat

On the flip side, there are many benefits to eating grass-fed meats.  Here are just a few:

  • The meat is “clean” and not full of hormones or antibiotics.
  • Grass fed meat is much leaner—even leaner than most chicken.
  • The little fat that is on the meat is full of beneficial Omega 3 fatty acids.
  • The meat is less likely to carry diseases such as E. coli or mad cow disease.
One Response to “Grass Fed Beef”

  1. Maggie May 2, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    I grew up on grass fed beef, and I hate eating the stuff from the stores. All that fat grosses me out. I know people say the fat is where the flavor is, but I grew up with plenty of nice lean beef and I never felt like I was missing something. I’m glad my parents are still willing to share their cows with us!

Leave a Reply

