Minimalism…really?

8 Jun

A few weekends ago we read our friend Josh Becker’s book called Simplify.  Josh writes a blog called Becoming Minimalist.  While the idea of minimalism has always turned me off in the past, all of sudden it was very attractive to both Dustin and I.  If you read any of Josh’s material you’ll know that its not about having bare walls, but rather only having what you really love and need.  Instead of having 15 pieces of art on the wall, only have 2-3 that you really love.  Things like that.  Anyways, we have started to make some changes to our home and I’m already loving the effects.  So far we’ve gone through the kitchen, living room, and our closet and gotten rid of a ton of stuff.  We also pulled some things from the basement and decided we had enough things to have a garage sale.  It is so freeing to get rid of all this extra stuff.  Having fewer things makes decision making and cleaning up so much easier.  It has also made it easier to pass on purchasing new items because we know we are striving to have less things.  I’m really looking forward to continuing this new lifestyle in the rest of our home because believe me, there is still a ton of stuff left. 🙂

Has anyone else recently decided to become minimalist?

4 Responses to “Minimalism…really?”

  1. Cristina June 15, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    We are totally on board with this! Me especially, but Jeremy too. We’ve never liked clutter, but lately I just want to trim things down even more and it feels so good. And I’m really trying hard to question all purchases before I make them.

  2. Serenity June 17, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I found your post from Joshua Becker’s twitter feet and had to post a hearty amen. I’ve been blogging lately about my own conversion to this idea. I love this goal to surround myself only with a few things I really love. I’ve also found the cleaning-out process adds so much to my peace and contentment. It’s wonderful.

  3. Living the Balanced Life June 17, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    I love Joshua Becker’s blog. I don’t really consider myself a minimalist, although I have been choosing to live more intentionally this past year. I have rid our home of many extra possessions, and I enjoy the space and the freedom it gives. And it makes cleanup a whole lot easier!
    Good luck to you!
    Bernice
    Is your stuff holding you back?

  4. Serenity June 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    I found your post from Joshua Becker’s twitter feed and had to post a hearty amen. I’ve been blogging lately about my own conversion to this idea. I love this goal to surround myself only with a few things I really love. I’ve also found the cleaning-out process adds so much to my peace and contentment. It’s wonderful.

Leave a Reply

