A clothing challenge, 60 for 60

30 Jun

In an attempt to be more minimalist in my closet I’ve decided to  do a little clothing challenge.  I’m calling it 60 for 60.  I have picked out 60 pieces of clothing, including shoes and that is all I will wear for 60 days.  I got the idea from my husband who mentioned there were some people doing a 333 challenge, 33 pieces of clothing for 3 months.  I wasn’t quite ready for that extreme of a challenge, so I made up my own.  60 items sounds like a lot until you start to pick things out.  Now, my 60 items do not include underwear, socks, pajamas, or workout clothes.  What am I including?

  • Shoes: 9 (not including running and biking shoes)
  • Dress/skirts: 6
  • Lounge pants: 2
  • Pants/shorts: 9
  • Tops: 34
This all starts tomorrow and goes through the end of August.  Anyone want to join me?
9 Responses to “A clothing challenge, 60 for 60”

  1. Maggie June 30, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Nice. You will be much better at packing for trips after this. I did about 30 pieces (including underwear and socks!) for 100 days in England. It transformed my ability to pack. One of the tricks I learned is just to wear an outfit for a couple of days if you’re not going to see the same people! I assume these 60 pieces don’t include jewelry. 🙂

    • ehersh June 30, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

      Yeah, jewelry not included. 😉 I know 60 items still seems like a lot of things, especially considering I could wear a different shirt everyday for a month, but I took SO MUCH stuff out of my closet by doing this. That’s what its all about for me right now.

  2. Sara Janssen June 30, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    So fun Anna! I’m about to blog about my own closet minimizing…look forward to chatting with you about it later in July 🙂

    • ehersh June 30, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

      We are so excited about seeing you guys!

  3. pbandj27 June 30, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I know this is pretty much the opposite of your challenge, but it reminded me of a blog I found: http://www.newdressaday.com/ 365 Days. 365 New Outfits. 365 Dollars. Some of her before & afters are pretty amazing.

  4. Lisa July 6, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Pregnancy makes me go through one of these challenges!! 😉

  5. Gina Zeidler July 13, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    I LOVE YOUR CLOSET Set up. Is is from the container store? This super inspires me girl!

    • ehersh July 15, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      Thanks! It’s actually from the old store Storables, but it’s very similar to the container store.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The end of 60 for 60 « Everyday Blessings - September 1, 2011

    […] some of you will remember that I challenged myself to to only have 60 pieces of clothing for 6o days.  Challenge complete!  I made it and I learned a few things about my wardrobe during this […]

Leave a Reply

